European Patents

The European Patent Convention entered into force for Lithuania on December 1, 2004. Lithuania became its 30-th contracting state. The next country to join the convention in 2005 was Latvia, which became the 31st member of the organization and now the list of contracting countries includes: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Monaco, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, the United Kingdom.


The extension agreement between the Republic of Lithuania and the European Patent Organisation, that provided for extension of European patents to Lithuania before December 1, 2004 is no longer valid, however the extension system  applies to  European and international applications filed prior to 1 December 2004 and European patents granted in respect of such applications.


For EP validation in Lithuania, the applicant has, within 3 months from the date of patent grant publication, to submit to the Lithuanian patent Bureau the Lithuanian translation of claims and to pay the publication fee.


To see the official fee for EP translation, publication and annuities click OFFICIAL FEES.

COPYRIGHT © 2020"Brainera". all rights reserved